Casual Comfort: Slouchy Crochet Top & Lace Dress

crochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashioncrochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashioncrochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashioncrochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashioncrochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashioncrochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashioncrochet top, lace dress, aviators, fashion, outfit of the day, personal style, guess sandals, nyc fashion, summer fashion

The weather was beautiful this past weekend in NYC, and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to stroll around and explore. It was a wonderfully relaxing afternoon and certainly a refreshing one at that, because of the change in my usual scenery. I love that there is always some place new to visit or something new to try in the city; there is no room for boredom or monotony, even.

As for my outfit, I wanted to keep it simple, and more importantly, comfortable. It was still a pretty warm day, so I threw on a lightweight, boxy lace dress and layered a crochet top over it. I love crochet tops for the summer because aside from being cute, they’re so functional as well. They allow for maximum breeze access. 🙂 I wanted to give the boxy dress some shape, so I used a belt to create a waistline and also tuck in the top. I opted for my flat sandals from Guess because I knew I would be walking a decent amount, and also because I have been practically living in them this summer.

It turned out to be a fun day of delicious eats and drinks. I went to a rooftop bar for the first time, which had a breathtaking view of the Empire State Building. We ended the day with some Dallas BBQ, which was also a first for me.

Any suggestions for places to visit and things to eat in NYC? I would love to hear your recommendations!

15 comments

  1. So delicate and pretty!

    1. Thank you!

  2. I love NYC! If you’re willing to splurge (or try restaurant week for discounts), Morimoto is great. Also Smorgasborg in Brooklyn is a food fair that happens every weekend (: For cheap goodness, Chinatown!

    1. I have been wanting to go to Smorgasborg for a while! Maybe I’ll finally get a chance to go this summer! And Morimoto seems really promising, can’t wait to try it. Thank you for the recommendations! 🙂

  3. Hey, great post! I’m Audrey and I’m very interested in fashion and style. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

    1. Hi Audrey, thank you for visiting my blog! I would love to check yours out!

  4. Love the lace and crochet mix! Your outfit looks super comfy without being too casual. And I miss NYC so much!! I can recommend some place but you might need to give me a category otherwise I’ll spew out 50 different places from clubs to tattoo shops haha.

    1. Thanks Alice! Hehe I’ll definitely keep you in mind the next time I go to NYC! :3

  5. These pictures are absolutely stunning! loving it ❤

    xoxo
    Maria

    http://thesoleproject.blogspot.com/

    1. Thank you, Maria!

  6. JUST JIAO · · Reply

    I really, really love your photos! What camera/lens do you use?

    -JustJiao

    1. Thank you! I use my trusty Nikon D90 with a Nikon 35mm lens!

  7. love this outfit! the crochet + lace go beautifully together!

    1. Thank you!

  8. Loved the sandals

Leave a comment