Style Guide: 3 Ways to Layer Summer Mid-Length Dress

And hiatus is officially over! I am so happy to finally share with all of you a new blog post–another style guide! It has already been quite some time since I posted my first style guide last fall, and I thought a great way to kick off the summer season was by putting together a style guide featuring the mid-length dress.

The 1950s style midi dress and skirt have been making a comeback since last fall with a chic modern twist. There is a large selection of these skirts and dresses available in a wide variety of prints, textures, and silhouettes, and I am certain that every lady could find one perfectly suited for her.

I purchased the dress below because it caught my eye while I was searching for a summer staple piece that is versatile and easy to pair. When I tried it on, I didn’t quite like the way the top half fit me, and I certainly did not like the idea of a mid-length dress. I figured I could still find ways to incorporate it into my wardrobe and brought it home with me.

Here are three ways I have been layering the dress.

style guide, summer, fashion, midi dress, mid length dress, mid calf dress, summer dress, summer fashion, coral dress, personal stylestyle guide, summer, fashion, midi dress, mid length dress, mid calf dress, summer dress, summer fashion, coral dress, personal style, white tshirt, white tee, plain tee, lace, lace shirt
1. Now, I would like to point out that “plain white tee” is open to your interpretation. Any variation of a white t-shirt will do; I have been going for the lace shirts lately, just because I love wearing lace for the summer and enjoy adding some variety in texture to my outfit. Here, I added a skinny belt to tuck in the shirt so that my waistline does not get lost in it as it is a box-style shirt.

style guide, summer, fashion, midi dress, mid length dress, mid calf dress, summer dress, summer fashion, coral dress, personal style, white shirt, white blouse, button down, summer wedges, wedges
2. For those days where I want to dress up the look a bit, I layer a classic white button down over the dress. It is so easy and great for the days when a simple t-shirt isn’t enough. Here, I buttoned the top half of the shirt and tied the bottom together to accentuate the waist.

style guide, summer, fashion, midi dress, mid length dress, mid calf dress, summer dress, summer fashion, coral dress, personal style, vest, denim vest, sandals, leopard print, leopard print sandals
3. The denim vest is my personal favorite, mainly because it is so darn comfortable. What I love about this particular vest is that the denim is very light and airy, which helps me stay cool during the hot summer months. Plus, I like the contrast the color of the vest adds to the overall look. Once again, I buttoned only the top half of the vest and tied the bottom together for some waist definition.

What do you think? 

Which of the above looks is your favorite? Would you wear a mid-length skirt or dress? I would love to hear your thoughts/ideas!

6 comments

  1. loved the second style and I am partial to lace too.

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you feel the same way about lace! 🙂

  2. lindsayw72 · · Reply

    I adore summer dresses. It’s so great when you can find one item and make it versatile. 🙂

    -xoxo
    Lindsay
    http://www.SequinsandStyle.com

    1. Versatility is key for me when I am shopping for a new item! And summer dresses are perfect for those hot, sweltering days!

  3. madameamrose · · Reply

    because of the fabric of the dress, I love the combination of the button-down with it. It’s very elegant together and definitely work-ready.

    1. I agree! I think it’s the fabric of the dress that allows for so many different pairings.

Leave a Reply

