Rainy Day Casual Wear: Royal Blue Sweater & Combat Boots

casual wear, rainy day outfit, outfit of the day, ootd, royal blue, royal blue sweater, black denim, combat boots, forever 21 sweater, hm jeanscasual wear, rainy day outfit, outfit of the day, ootd, royal blue, royal blue sweater, black denim, combat boots, forever 21 sweater, hm jeanscasual wear, rainy day outfit, outfit of the day, ootd, royal blue, royal blue sweater, black denim, combat boots, forever 21 sweater, hm jeans

Happy new year everyone! 🙂

Unfortunately, here in the northeastern region of the US, the new year brought us a blizzard followed by freezing rain that turned the powdery snow into ice. As for me, there was no way I was venturing out into the icy streets and below freezing temperatures in heels/skirts/dresses (plus I had nowhere special to go that required any of the aforementioned pieces), so I opted for the sweater+jeans ensemble instead. Now, I’m not sure if you have noticed, but the color palette of my outfits in the past few posts have stayed within the neutral range. In order to break this trend, I made a conscious effort to refrain from purchasing any neutral-colored pieces of clothing during the Black Friday/Cyber Monday madness,  and this royal blue sweater is the result.

Needless to say, purchasing the sweater was a huge leap for me, because now it meant that I had color to work with my very neutral winter wardrobe. It also meant that I had to work with a color I have never worn before, which is why I chose to simplify things as much as possible. I ended up pairing the sweater with these black jeans from H&M. I’m not exactly satisfied with the fit of these jeans, but I was completely lacking black denim pants at the time of purchase (early October) and they were on sale, and I am a college student on a serious budget, and well, now I wear them.

When it came to the shoes, I had two options: my obnoxiously bright and printed rain boots, or my black combat boots that I recently ordered from Hautelook. I went with the combat boots because although it’s very fun wearing the rain boots (they will be featured on the blog on another rainy day), it is seriously bright and seriously printed with multiple graphics. Since the sweater is already a bold piece itself, I thought the combat boots would go best with the rest of the outfit without clashing.

Overall, I am quite happy with the sweater. It is versatile enough to dress up or down, and it’s very comfortable and warm.

I want to thank all of you once again for visiting my blog and giving me support and encouragement. When I started the blog, I had no idea what to expect, and so far everything that has come my way regarding this blog has been very pleasant, including the feedback from you, the readers! I will certainly put in more effort to improve the content and quality of this blog. Thank you so much! 🙂

I hope you have a wonderful week!

3 comments

  1. You look great in that color! I hope it gets a little warmer over there soon. It looks crazy cold.

    1. Thank you Alice! It is not a color that I’m used to wearing, so it was a bit of a challenge coming up with a pairing. And the weather has warmed up a bit, so what a relief! 🙂

  2. I completely relate to the whole neutral palate issue. Been wearing way too much black lately! The bright blue is a nice color for winter variety

Leave a Reply

