Style Guide: 3 Ways to Wear an Oversized Denim Shirt for Fall

casual wear, oversized denim shirt, style guide, how to wear oversized denim shirt, how to, fashion, fall fashion, denim on denim, comfortable layers, 3 ways to wear oversized denim shirt

One of the most comfortable and easy-to-style pieces in my closet is this oversized denim shirt that used to belong to my brother. I don’t think he ever wore it, since I always saw it hanging in the corner of his closet along with all the other clothes he didn’t wear. I decided it needed an owner who would actually appreciate its value, so I claimed it as mine. I don’t think my brother even noticed that it was gone.

The oversized trend has maintained its popularity and place in modern day fashion mostly because of comfort and practicality without the loss of that put-together look we all desire, especially for the colder seasons. As the temperature cools, it is so tempting for many of us to throw on a sweatshirt and a pair of sweatpants to guard ourselves against the chilly air. But with the rise of the oversized trend, we can look stylish in our oversized coats, sweaters, cardigans, and scarves and stay warm and cozy at the same time.

With the fall season in full swing and winter at the tips of our fingers, I wanted to share with you 3 comfortable ways to style an oversized denim shirt.

casual wear, oversized denim shirt, style guide, how to wear oversized denim shirt, how to, fashion, fall fashion, denim on denim, comfortable layers, 3 ways to wear oversized denim shirt

1. Denim on Denim: Shorts

A wonderful way to carry over your summer shorts into your fall/winter wardrobe is to wear them over a pair of leggings or tights. I thought these particular pair of shorts were appropriate to wear into the fall season because of the darker wash and thicker denim. Because of the large size of the denim shirt, I decided to keep the rest of my outfit quite form-fitting to balance out the look. Since the palette of the outfit was already so dark, I wanted to lighten it up a bit with my bone-colored lace up booties, which I’ve also worn in a previous post.

casual wear, oversized denim shirt, style guide, how to wear oversized denim shirt, how to, fashion, fall fashion, denim on denim, comfortable layers, 3 ways to wear oversized denim shirt

2. Denim on Denim: Jeans

This is personally my favorite look of the three, and the way I wear the denim shirt the most. I styled the shirt with a pair of dark wash skinny jeans and threw on a loose v-neck for maximum comfort. The denim shirt is perfect to wear over a t-shirt for those days that are too cold to go out in just short sleeves, but not cold enough to put on a jacket. Sometimes, I switch out the skinny jeans for opaque, black leggings and button the bottom 2 buttons for an even more casual look. I then finished off the look with a pair of sneaker wedges to add some height. 😛

Comfortable Layers

3. Comfortable Layers

This is a look that is very put-together yet comfortable. I layered the denim shirt with a boxy lace dress and tied the shirt in the front to accentuate the waist. Because this is a more feminine look, I wanted to make sure that the waistline did not get lost in the oversized shirt and the boxy dress. I threw on a pair of tall, brown boots with a bit of a heel (which I promise are very comfortable) to complete the ensemble.

What do you think?

Which one of the above outfits is your favorite? Would you wear an oversized denim shirt? Make sure to leave a comment below!

Also, don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ and Instagram!

3 comments

  1. Great ways to style denim shirts! I love wearing them, but they can be kind of difficult to style at first. Especially when people are scared to wear denim on denim! Thanks for sharing!

    1. You’re right, many people do try to avoid the denim on denim look. I really do think that the stigma associated with wearing denim on denim is a bit outdated now, which is why I included some denim on denim looks in this post! Thanks for reading. 🙂

  2. […] you a new blog post–another style guide! It has already been quite some time since I posted my first style guide last fall, and I thought a great way to kick off the summer season was by putting together a style […]

Leave a Reply

