October Sunset: Cozy Sweater Pairing

fall fashion, h&m sweater, forever 21 shorts, sheer tights, black pumps, outfit of the day, personal style, fashionfall fashion, h&m sweater, forever 21 shorts, sheer tights, black pumps, outfit of the day, personal style, fashionfall fashion, h&m sweater, forever 21 shorts, sheer tights, black pumps, outfit of the day, personal style, fashionfall fashion, h&m sweater, forever 21 shorts, sheer tights, black pumps, outfit of the day, personal style, fashionfall fashion, h&m sweater, forever 21 shorts, sheer tights, black pumps, outfit of the day, personal style, fashion

First, let me make one thing very clear: I am a full time college student on a very limited budget. I only go shopping when I really need something, and it will usually take several trips to the mall for me to find whatever it is I need at an affordable price. When it comes to closet essentials (such as tees, tanks, jeans, etc.), I am very picky about the price–it absolutely must fall within the price range I have in mind. I don’t like to spend much on essentials because I know I will continue to purchase them regularly. As for trendier pieces, I like to look for them in sale sections because I never know how long it will stay in trend. Occasionally, I will splurge on certain items, mostly on pieces that are classic and timeless (such as coats, blazers, blouses, etc.), because I know I can wear them for many years. For these items, I like to think of it as making an investment. 🙂

With that said, I recently made a few trips to the mall in search for a new pair of jeans and a sweater for the upcoming colder months. On the very last trip, I found this ivory sweater from H&M on sale at a very affordable price. I was very lucky because H&M happened to be having a very large sale event store-wide , so I was able to pick up a pair of jeans as well.

The sweater is very easy to style because of its neutral color (I am also very into the black and white look at the moment). It can be dressed up like I did above with pumps, or dressed down with a pair of jeans and boots or even sneakers. I always say this, but versatility is so important for someone who is on a budget!

On a side note, this was the first time I did a photoshoot during the golden hour, and now I understand why it is always recommended to take photos during this time. Lighting is absolutely beautiful! I usually do my shoots in the late morning one or two hours before noon, and I have to play around a lot with the exposure when I’m editing photos because the sunlight is too strong. This photo set required very little editing, however, and I am happy about that. 🙂

Have a lovely Monday everyone!
And make sure to follow me on Bloglovin‘ and Instagram!

4 comments

  1. Beautiful! I love that jumper, its the perfect staple piece for autumn and it looks great with your shorts 🙂 Please take a look and follow my style blog! charnellegeraldine.wordpress.com 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! I just looked through your blog and think it’s wonderful. Following you now! 🙂

  2. I completely agree with your philosophy, Heidi! Currently looking to finally splurge on my first designer-ish bag 😮

    1. I am looking for a designer handbag as well! Hopefully once I graduate and am settled in my career, I will be able to expand my collection!

Leave a Reply

