Concoction of Neutrals: Canvas Vest and Lace-Up Boots

banana republic vest, lace up boots, sand color, military green, hautelookbanana republic vest, lace up boots, sand color, military green, hautelooklace up boots, sand color, hautelook
Vest from Banana Republic | Boots from Hautelook

Two weeks ago, I finally made my first Hautelook purchase after about a year of intermittently browsing through the various events hosted on the website. If you have never heard of Hautelook, it is a website where you can sign up to browse through a variety of sale events offered by different companies and brands. Almost always the sales are pretty big, ranging anywhere from 30%-50% off or even more, depending on the company. You can often find many well-known or high end brands on sale on the website, such as Calvin Klein, Guess, Free People, Urban Decay, Ray Ban, and more. There is a rather large selection of products, including a children’s section and a furniture and home appliances section as well. It is a site that is definitely worth checking out: http://www.hautelook.com.

Anyways, I had been searching for a pair of boots that will transition nicely into fall and winter. When I first saw these boots on Hautelook, I was a little hesitant as the color was a lot lighter than what I was initially looking for, but went ahead and bought them anyway.

Needless to say, I am so glad I made the purchase. Although they were a bit difficult to style at first, I eventually figured out that with this specific color, balance is key. Because they are so light in color, it is difficult for them to blend in with darker colored bottoms, cutting the legs at the ankles and giving me a shorter appearance. To remedy with this, I paired the boots with a white tee, just so the boots don’t stand out too much while creating a balanced palette of colors. I threw on this canvas vest from Banana Republic to add some weight to the top half to draw a bit of attention away from the brightness of the boots, but the darker, military green color of the vest prevents it from completely muting the existence of the boots.

Classes are starting in about a week, and I’m quite excited to be back at school. Hopefully I can find some interesting places to shoot photos once I’m moved in this coming weekend.

Cheers!

8 comments

  1. Love the shoes! The way you balanced it into your outfit is flawless

    1. Thank you! It was a daring purchase for me, as I gravitate more towards darker colored shoes haha

  2. Fabulous and simple, but I love that you took a risk! It’s always fun to play with pieces that are out of your comfort zone!

    PS~ I have an International GIVEAWAY on now!

    : signe
    : the daily savant :
    : the daily savant : on bloglovin

    1. Thank you Signe! And I will check out your giveaway!

  3. I’m actually so glad your Hautelook experience was good! I’ve been looking at the site for half a year now, and still haven’t mustered up the courage to order anything, haha…(: It feels risky to me, but their products are so heavily discounted and gorgeous that I can’t resist at least looking.

    1. I completely understand what you mean! I did exactly the same; I was registered on the site for about year now, but didn’t make the purchase until recently. If you find something you really like, you should give it a try!

  4. Love the outfit and your blog!
    Do you want to work together?
    Yana
    http://www.pinkithink.com

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog, Yana! I apologize for not replying earlier; I have been away from the blog for some time. What kind of work do you have in mind?

Leave a Reply

